THE 16TH PRESIDENT

I did not vote for him but 15,970,018 did, making him the 16th president of my dear republic. Today is his first day of work in the palace hailed as the most powerful place in the whole archipelago.

Like any big event the media both traditional and digital were on their toes ensuring that every citizen get bits and pieces of the historic inauguration, detailing the distinguished guest list, tight security, interesting first family’s fashion and glam. All these are of lesser interest to me because just like previous inaugurals, I am more determined to know how the new president will speak to me, and how his words will directly impact me as a single mom/OFW/registered voter.

I was grateful that his almost 15 minutes speech was exactly timed during my lunch break in Bangkok and so I had the opportunity to concentrate and digest most of his narratives. Here are some lines that personally hit me:

 “No leader, however strong, can succeed at anything of national importance or significance unless he has the support and cooperation of the people he is tasked to lead and sworn to serve”.

So even if I did not vote for him, he acknowledged that he needs my support (however that small) to succeed.

“Erosion of faith and trust in government – that is the real problem that confronts us”.

One of the reason, I left my flourishing corporate career in the Philippines was because of my love-hate relationship with the bureaucracy.

“Indeed ours is a problem that dampens the human spirit. But all is not lost”.

I have ten thousand reasons to give up due to numerous challenges being a single working mom, and at times I am pushed to the brink but hope always finds me.

 “I serve every one and not only one.”

Now I feel elated that I am part of the 102,234,130 people that he will reach out in the name of public service.

Carry on your excellency!

time-magazine-cover-rodrigo-duterte

Grab from web. Credit to owner.

Backstory : Rodrigo “Rody” Roa Duterte, popularly known as Digong is the first president from Mindanao.

Leave a Reply

